Back In The Summer Of

Summer, a simple 6-letter word with so much power, joy, happiness and all other great things you can think of. There’s something special about summer. It smells different, the air you breath is not the same anymore, the colors seems more brighter.

Back in the summer of

Everyone of us had that one summer whose memory will last forever with us. On that particular summer, you may have found the purpose of your life, you may have found your true love, you may had taken a giant leap or in other words, that particular summer changed your life. Beside staying in pool for whole day, barbecue nights under the stars, camping weekends, long road trips, beach parties and so much more, summer is full of all sorts of enjoyable experience which lasts forever.

I miss my old summer days very much. Playing all day long, no worrying about school, just enjoying life. I miss those feeling, those moments. 20 years ago, when I was a kid in school, summer was the time for me to break free from all worries, just like all other kids. Fast forward to 2015 and I’m working in a cubicle, missing that era of my life more than ever.

The summer of 1995 was the best summer I ever had. It still is. I had so much fun back then that sometimes I wish to go back in time & re-live all those moments. I enjoyed every second of that summer as it was truly an spectacular one. In the last week of April 1995, I was done with my 10th grade exams and from that week all the way to mid August, I ate, breath and lived just fun. I bought the books I planned to buy and read them all, I played cricket for hours under the sun, watching TV for long hours was no issue for my mother, spending summer nights under the sky on roof was the best part, these are just the few glimpses of that time. I do miss my 15 year old self, when I looked at the world around me in a totally different way. I had no worries back then as I was light years away from all the hardships of life.

mykids

But now here I’m, a 35 year old husband and a father, working from 8 AM to 5:30 PM on weekdays, missing my old summer days badly. Now, summer only seems to exists on weekends for me when I’m at home. Spending time with Uzair is the summer for me now as I’m an integral part of his summer memories. Although right now he is just 2 years old and may not remember his early childhood when he grows up. But I wonder what he might feel when he look back at the pictures of his childhood, which I take whenever I get the chance. Will he feel the same about his old summer days the way I feel about mine?

And that’s the big point of summer: as time passes, we get old but our summer never gets old. It take us back to those unforgettable moments of our life when we wished them to last forever, kind of like Linger.

4 thoughts on “Back In The Summer Of

  1. This is a wonderful ode to the magical summers of youth. I recall most fondly the summers of my grade school years when life’s biggest responsibilities were to swim, play outside, and have fun. I wouldn’t mind going back to that for a summer! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

