Baba, Look!!

And so he climbed!!

Well actually, this is not the first time for Uzair climbing this steel gate in our home. Whenever he does so, he diverts my attention towards him by saying: Baba, Look!!

NWP_151205_0031

I remember that in his first few attempts, he would always climbed to the top, expecting me to back him up. After getting assured that I’m standing right behind him, he would then release himself from the very top for me to catch him up.

But few tries, I warned him up not to do so. I then taught him how climb down from there, step by step. But I still stand behind him, just in case.

After all, he is just a kid! Trying their hands on new things is how kids learn about the most basic things. And letting them do it on their own makes them confident. Of course you can’t just let them do it all by themselves.

Don’t just feed them with a golden spoon! Keep watching them with your lion eyes also!

It’s good for them!!

 

Added for The Daily Post’s Daring

10 thoughts on “Baba, Look!!

  1. It is always difficult not to worry about what the young are doing – if it might be dangerous – if they would hurt themselves – etc. I know I am something of a mother hen with my wards (they are my mentally disabled sister and cousin) and they complain – but like it as well! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, right you are! Trying their hands on everything they can, without considering the consequences, is what they are best at. But this is how they learn, that’s how we learned. So letting them do what they are doing but under a watchful eye is the right way I suppose.
      Your sister and cousin must be special to you!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. They are my wards and have been “given” to me by Mother and my Godmother when they died – good reasons to be special! They have also changed my life and its orientation: I am 22, stopped my studies, left Paris to live with them in the house in the country Mother has left me. No more expectations of a good job and travels. A life lived according to their rythm and not mine. Other reasons to be special. This is sometimes difficult and sometimes very rewarding. But always special! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

