Oh Maria!

What in the world is wrong with you world??

I mean seriously, what is wrong with you!!

Maria Sharapova, renowned professional tennis player and definitely a sports icon, who has won 35 WTA singles titles including 5 Grand Slam titles is in headlines these days. Not because of naming another tennis championship under her belt because of failing a drug test at 2016 Australian Open.

367px-mutua_madrid_open_2015
image courtesy of Wikipedia

Okay, we all know sports athletes can’t take certain medicines which may enhance their performances on the field. Every athlete knows about this and they follow a strict set of guidelines in order to keep their performances as natural as possible. But sometimes, someone crosses the line and takes certain medicine which are not allowed by sports.

So what happened with Maria Sharapova? Read her own statement below, which was issued on March 7th 2016, to understand her case:

“I received a letter from the ITF that I failed a drugs test at the Australian Open. I take full responsibility for it. 

“For the past 10 years I have been given a medicine called mildronate by my family doctor and a few days ago after I received the ITF letter I found out that it also has another name of meldonium which I did not know. It is very important for you to understand that for 10 years this medicine was not on Wada’s banned list and I had legally been taking the medicine for the past 10 years. 

“But on January 1st the rules had changed and meldonium became a prohibited substance which I had not known. I was given this medicine by my doctor for several health issues that I was having in 2006.”

“Throughout my long career I have been very open and honest about many things and I take great responsibility and professionalism in my job every single day and I made a huge mistake. I let my fans down. I let the sport down I have been playing since the age of four and I love so deeply.”

“I know with this I face consequences and I don’t want to end my career this way and I really hope I will be given another chance to play this game. I know many of you thought I was retiring but if I was ever going to announce my retirement it would probably not be in a downtown Los Angeles hotel with this fairly ugly carpet.”

There are some notable points in this statement:

1. Maria was taking a medicine, by the name of Mildronate, for past 10 years which was prescribed by a family doctor.
2. Mildronate wasn’t on the list of WADA‘s banned list, ever since Maria start taking it from 2006, that was 10 years ago.
3. But all of a sudden, on January 1st 2016, some people woke up one morning at WADA and found out that Mildronate has another name of Meldonium and this medicine is banned. It is not allowed to be taken by athletes at all.

So, on whom the hammer falls here? Poor Maria Sharapova, who was legally taking a medicine to treat her decade long illness. No one had any issue, what so ever, with that medicine. But all of a sudden, someone in WADA made an astonishing discovery one day that Mildronate is also available by the name of Meldonium and this is not legal.

In the blink of an eye, Maria Sharapova is in the spotlight, receiving criticism from everywhere. This is what I really hate. Maria had given up a justified statement as she had taken full responsibility of for doing something that wasn’t illegal in the first place at all.

For crying out loud! She was taking a legal medicine for past 10 years, which wasn’t banned until January 1st, 2016.

And because of this “mistake”, Maria Sharapova lost her sponsorship from Nike and TAG Heuer. This is really really bad and I don’t like this at all.

How come a person should take all the blame of taking a legal medicine for past 10 years as all of a sudden, some officials in a global non-profit foundation, wakes up and announces that this legal medicine is “now” illegal. So you are held responsible for taking it for past 10 years and you better apologize to the world for this “mistake”.

One more point: WADA took 10 years to notice another name of Mildronate. Really smart!

And this is really making me sick!!

 

Added for The Daily Post’s Banned

6 thoughts on “Oh Maria!

Leave a Reply

