A Photo A Week Challenge – Flying

For the past 35+ years, I didn’t got the chance to step inside an airplane and experience the joy and amazement of flying high in the sky, above the clouds and seeing the world down below in a totally unbelievable perspective.

I finally got my chance this past January!

As I have mentioned, this was my very first air traveling experience, so my mind and heart were in the states of so many emotions, at the same time. Honestly speaking, I can’t even explain properly what was I going through.

Joy, tense, fear, excitement, wonder. All these emotions were circling my mind and heart like a tornado. I sat next to the window, feeling like a five year old on his very first trip to Disneyland πŸ™‚

Long story short, it was an amazing experience for me and to this day, I still feel the joy and excitement of those 2+ hours. I took off from Karachi for Dubai after 2:40am, so I was unable to see much of the outside but I did captured this from my window:

32276468041_fa46fa2f38_o

I took this snap as soon as my heartbeat returned to its normal pace. During the whole taxing on the runway, taking-off, gaining altitude process, my heart and mind were both shouting out “this is really happening!!” πŸ™‚

For the next 80 minutes, the world was dark outside, so I didn’t took more pictures. I didn’t slept at all during the whole flight and kept on wondering so much about what am I going to experience next. And I didn’t got disappointed for what came next.

31554488794_0fb3c08556_o

The joy of seeing a land for the very first time is unexplainable and I felt the same when I saw these lights of a land, untouched by me, for the very first time. I took many snaps of these lights while kept on thinking about what I’m seeing right now is something I haven’t seen before.

And this something you experience only through flying. Many thanks to Nancy Merrill for allowing me to share my little experience with your through her A Photo a Week Challenge: Flying

Upon returning back to home, Jia decided to sit next to the window seat as our flight was during the day. I happily switched my seat with her (good husbands do so, you know πŸ™‚ ). So in return, she captured these snaps for me:

32606488782_18d6be64a1_o

32379966970_a401259c18_o

31945921423_76a1398d36_o

 

 

10 thoughts on “A Photo A Week Challenge – Flying

  1. I remember my first airplane flight. It was amazing and scary and wonderful. Welcome to the wonder of air travel! Hope you are able to have many more adventures. πŸ™‚ Thanks for joining the challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are both talented, Jia and you, to take pictures. I am not easily excited but I am ALWAYS when I take a plane, when it takes off, and when I see the earth down beneath. As you say, it cannot be explained. It is a marvelous experience. Now, as a woman, I admire your sacrifice as a good husband when you leave your window seat to your wife: that’s a gentleman!!!!!.
    I hope you will be able to go to the States to visit your family there. Ir would be great for you, grown-ups, but a real opportunity for Uzair. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, it would be great for us to go there too. I think I didn’t informed you that my Uncle and his family made a surprise visit to us back in March. His kids were longing to meet rest of the family as they hadn’t seen us in person for long, so they made a surprise visit. Enjoyed great few days with them.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

