June 20 Challenge – Hello Ainee!

Day 20 Twenty Minutes

June 20, 1963. The United States and Soviet Union signed an agreement to set up a hot line communication link between the two countries. 

If you could have a hot line to any person, dead or alive, who would it be? Who would you want to chat with if you only had twenty minutes on the hot line? What would you tell them?


 

Hello Ainee!

You may not remember me but I do remember you so well, even after so many years. The last time we met was more than 25 years ago and yes, that’s a long long time. We were 5th graders back then, so it is okay if you have no memory about me or what happened the last time we met.

Let me to take you down the memory lane by telling you what happened when we last met. Funny story it is.

Okay, so the last time we met was when you caught me red-handed as I was stealing my report card from classroom closet!

Remember that?

It was my last day in St. John’s School, where you and I studied in same class for about 4 years. The summer break was upon us but before that, my parents decided to enroll me in another school, Falconhouse Grammar School (for reasons I have no idea about). I was required to submit my report card but our class teacher refused to hand me over my report card earlier. My tiny brain schemed to steal the report card from closet, as it was residing there with all other report cards. There was no lock in it, so it was a piece of cake.

Or that’s what I thought so!

On the very last day before summer break that year, it was now or never for me. As soon as the last class got over, I knew I had to make my move. I stayed in the class as I waited anxiously for everyone else to leave, including you.

Do you remember you were class monitor back then?

It was your duty to make sure everything is in order as per teacher’s instructions before leaving the class. I saw you leaving the room with your friends and realized that you had already done the inspection before leaving. So, as soon as I was all alone, I walked towards the closet to make my move. I grabbed my report card and turned around. Instead of seeing an empty classroom, I saw you!

Yes, you were standing right behind me and caught me red-handed as I was holding my report card in my hand.

I was so shocked as moments ago, I saw leaving classroom but there you were, right in front of me. This is how it went next:

You: What are you doing here?

Me (bit scared): I’m here to get my report card.

You: Did you just picked it up without asking?

Me: Yes.

You: Why? Didn’t you asked the teacher about it?

Me: I did but she refused, so I decided to steal it.

You: I will inform her.

Me (back in my senses): Doesn’t matter to me.

You: Oh, we’ll see about that.

Me: Listen, Ainee! I’m not coming back after summer. I will go to another school after the break.

You (bit shocked): You got admission in another school?

Me: Yes I did and for this I need my report card. That’s why I’m taking it with me today.

You didn’t said much after that as I quickly stepped out of the classroom.

That was our last and also the very first brief meeting, which occurred more than 25 years ago. I still have that 5th grade report card with me and on one page, there is your name.

Yes, your name with all your high grades. You were very good in studies whereas I wasn’t. That report card is fill with average grades of mine too.

But that one page with your name tops every other.

 

 

For Kathleen B. Duncan’s June 20 Challenge

Added for The Daily Post’s Fret

Added for RDP Friday: LETTER

 

 

8 thoughts on “June 20 Challenge – Hello Ainee!

    • bushboy April 18, 2018 / 1:18 PM

      School can have the best stories can’t they?

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hammad Rais April 18, 2018 / 4:44 PM

      Obviously!
      That era of life is full of stories one will remember for the rest of his or her life.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Karuna June 21, 2016 / 3:15 PM

    I’m not surprised you would remember that day! Why were her grades in your report card?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hammad Rais June 21, 2016 / 11:37 PM

      Our class teacher mistakenly wrote her grades in my report card. I remember how once Aniee cried in front of whole class when test time was over and she was unable to finish it up. Her grades were always great. Always!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Karuna June 22, 2016 / 8:56 AM

      An interesting mistake…. and even more interesting that she would have done it the one time you stole it!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hammad Rais June 22, 2016 / 11:28 AM

      I guess you are right here 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment