Your Personal Locomotive – A Visual Poem

Heading towards the next level!

Through this blog of mine, I love to share random, and sometimes mostly weird, thoughts in the form of few sentences, which I label as poetry.

Despite the clear facts that I’m not a poet, English is not my native tongue and my vocabulary is very limited.

So, whenever such thoughts pop in my head, I write them down, while picturing them in my mind simultaneously about what it would be like to actually see them happen in real life.

This past weekend, I stepped into that path!

Back in 2017, I wrote few lines about an imaginary giant locomotive titled Your Personal Locomotive (you can read it here), which was actually inspired by Kunal Thakore’s I Don’t Sleep Alone.

Now, I don’t consider my few lines as a masterpiece but what I wrote back then kept circulating in my mind, like a moving visual of a locomotive with lots of carriages.

Fast forward to October 2018, when I launched my VI:IV Films project, I decided to make a visual representation of Your Personal Locomotive as one of the short films I want to make.

But because of time constraints and many other factors, I wasn’t able to work upon it. I did made other short films in the meanwhile but this particular project of mine kept pinging in the back of my mind.

So, one shinny Saturday afternoon earlier this April, Uzair and I headed towards the rooftop at home with my smartphone and a toy train set Uzair received on his 1st birthday back in 2014.

Under my specific instructions, which were according to those mind visuals about my own words, Uzair played with his toy set on the rooftop as I captured the footage on my smartphone.

I then spent most of my past weekend in turning that footage into a visual presentation of my own words, which is straight from my heart.

So, without further ado, I proudly present:

Your Personal Locomotive – A Short Film

Unable to play? Click here to open it up in a new window

 

VI:IV Films is my YouTube channel project I have created to make short films about the way I think and understand of the world I live in.

You can watch my previous short films by clicking on the links below:

Once Upon A Summer

Into The Green

Life’s Snippets

Movements In Mart

A Morning’s Shine

Clipper Diaries Episode #1 – The Time-lapse

 

 

 

viiv-films-logo_button

 

Added for RDP Wednesday – VISUAL

 

 

9 thoughts on “Your Personal Locomotive – A Visual Poem

    • Hammad Rais July 2, 2020 / 11:15 PM

      Thank you so very much for this amazing comment. This really makes my day 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Victoria Stuart July 1, 2019 / 7:49 PM

    There is so much to love in this film, Hammad. The colorful train, the child, the rooftop, your resonant voice and the music all combine to be heart-opening and very touching.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hammad Rais July 2, 2019 / 1:27 PM

      Resonating voice!
      Wow, this just made my day and I simply can’t be more thankful to you 🙂
      Uzair, my son, received that train set on his 1st birthday I think and I was picturing to put those thoughts of mine into motion by using that train set. I feel so glad that you liked it 🙂
      Thank you so very much!

      Like

  2. sgeoil July 1, 2019 / 7:06 PM

    I loved this. The combination of your words and the visual image fit so well together. I found it uplifting.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hammad Rais July 2, 2019 / 1:24 PM

      Thank you very much for watching and liking this. It was fun for both me and Uzair, my son, when we were making this. Actually, I think he had much fun than me 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hammad Rais April 29, 2019 / 7:59 PM

      Thank you so very much. Lag raha kay mehnat wasool hogae. Jee pas-e-parda awaz meri he has 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment